Search news

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Estate Auction in Clinton



Estate Auction 
Saturday, September 15, 2018 10:00 A.M. 
Household, Collectibles, Furniture, Dish & Glassware Clinton, Missouri
Questions call:
Kevin 660 492 3279
Tyler 660 492 7764
Bryan 660 492 3740
Also view Sale Bill @ www.auctionzip.com






Obituary - Patrick "Pat" Estep

Patrick “Pat” Estep, 61 of Butler, Missouri passed away August 29, 2018 at Kindred Hospital Northland in Kansas City, Missouri. Cremation, with private family services scheduled at a later date. 

Arrangements entrusted to Mullinax Funeral Home, Butler (660-679-0009). Messages of condolence may be left for the family at www.mullinaxfuneralhome.com

Patrick Lynn Estep was born August 21, 1957 in Gravette, Arkansas to Paul and Pearl Elizabeth Shields Estep. He worked in many different fields throughout his life, from car dealing to hotel management. For many years he and his wife Patty managed the Amble Hotel in Adrian. Pat loved to garden, and enjoyed his family and faithful dog.

Pat is survived by his wife of 23 years, Patty Arnold of the home in Butler, son Patrick Estep of Gravette, AR., step-daughter Delois Shiffer of Adrian, MO., step-son Daniel Arnold of Clinton, MO., grandsons Theodore and Jacob Shiffer, sisters Paula Withers of Gravette, AR., and Patricia Mitchell of Adrian, MO., brother Paul Dean Estep of Adrian, MO., along with many nieces, nephews, and extended family members. Pat was a wonderful man who always took care of those he loved. He will be deeply missed




New Sex Offender Law Now In Effect

On August 28, 2018 Senate Bill No. 655 became a law in Missouri. This new law tasked the Sheriff’s Offices to categorize registered sex offenders into Tiers. In order to do this the Sheriff’s Office had to analyze each sex offender’s offense, victim’s age, and whether or not the sex offender had been convicted of failure to register.

There is a total of 63 registered sex offenders living in Bates County. There is ten Tier 1 offenders, eight Tier 2 Offenders and forty-five Tier 3 Offenders. Tier 1 sex offenders are required to register only once a year in their birth month. Tier 2 sex offenders are required to register in their birth month and six months after. Tier 3 sex offenders are required to register every 90 days. If a Tier 1 sex offender is convicted to failure to register as a sex offender they will be changed to a Tier 2 sex offender.

If a Tier 1 sex offender maintains a clean record for ten years they can petition the court to be removed from the registry. A Tier 2 sex offender can petition the court for removal after 25 years of having a clean record. A Tier 3 sex offender has to register for the duration of their lifetime. Sex Offenders must file this petition in the court with which they were convicted in.

To do our part to ensure the safety of the community, Sheriff Anderson requires his Deputies to do home checks every six months on the sex offenders living in Bates County. This ensures that the sex offender is residing at the address they are registered at. 

If you feel that a sex offender is not compliant or have any questions regarding the sex offender laws please contact Jami Page at 660-679-3232. You can also email her at jpage@batescountysheriff.com.


Sharon Scrogham Congratulations

All of us at Mullinax Funeral Home send a very special congratulations to Sharon Scrogham at Butler Center. 

Sharon was deservedly named 2018 Employee of the Year for District 1 in the Missouri Health Care Association. 

Says Sharon, "I take pride and ownership in the care of our residents and make them feel that this is their home. I love what I do!" 

And it shows, Sharon. Your residents and fellow staff are lucky to have you.


Power Outages reported from Osage Valley Electric Cooperative

Osage Valley Electric Cooperative currently have an outage affecting 1031 of our members on the Piper Substation. This involves an area reaching from east rural Adrian to Montrose and up to Urich. 

The issue appears to be at the substation and our power provider, KAMO is working repair the issue. We also have a several individual outages scattered across Cass County that crews are working to restore. 

Please do not report outages using Facebook or Messenger. Please call 660-679-3131 or use your SmartHub app to report outages.


Parents Day out starts next week in Butler





Missouri State Highway Patrol Provides Additional Explanation For RAP Back

Colonel Sandra K. Karsten, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, would like to provide additional information to the public regarding the RAP Back program authorized by Missouri House Bill 1350.

Effective August 28, 2018, Missouri House Bill 1350 takes effect authorizing the Missouri and National RAP Back programs. If enrolled in the RAP Back program, qualified entities will have the ability to receive ongoing status notifications of new arrests regarding those applicants under the entity's purview. Notifications are contingent upon the entity having submitted a fingerprint-based criminal record check on or after August 28, 2018, and would include arrests reported in Missouri, as well as from other states.

Qualified entities eligible for RAP Back include but are not limited to: public and private schools; health care providers; childcare and eldercare providers; and city, county, and state licensing agencies, which includes governmental employment and criminal justice employment for sheriff’s departments, police departments, prosecuting attorneys' offices, and court personnel.

The concept for RAP Back originated from representatives from numerous local, state, and federal agencies, including noncriminal justice entities, concerned with a one-time criminal history record check being conducted on persons in positions of public trust. With RAP Back, authorized entities can receive ongoing status notifications on criminal arrests reported to the state or FBI, but received after the initial processing of a fingerprint-based criminal record check request. There are several benefits for entities to enroll applicants in RAP Back, which includes decreasing the requirement to re-fingerprint for the same purpose, solving the “snapshot in time” issue associated with a one-time background check, and reducing the need for self-reporting.

Missouri is one of three states in the nation that is approved for Federal RAP Back. The other states are Utah, which became a participating state on July 1, 2015, and Texas, which became a participating state on October 26, 2017.


47th Annual Louisburg Kansas Truck and Tractor Pull