Search news

Friday, March 19, 2021

Bates County Soil and Water Conservation District 2021 Poster Contest Winners

2021 Poster Contest Luncheon by Elizabeth Davis 

Due to current COVID restrictions, the Bates County Soil and Water Conservation District was unable to hold their annual Cooperator Appreciation Open House this year. In order to honor the 2021 Poster Contest winners, the Board of Supervisors voted to hold a Poster Contest Luncheon. 

The luncheon was held March 18, 2021, at the First Christian Church, 11 W. Pine Street, Butler, MO, with a small group of people in attendance. This year’s theme was “Healthy Forests Healthy Communities.” Posters are judged at 50% on theme, 30% for visual appeal, 10% for originality and 10% for universal appeal.

The top contest winners from each class receive a ribbon and cash prize. In all, 213 fourth graders from eight area schools participated in the event. From each school, a first-place winner was picked, and from those eight, the field was narrowed to the four winners who were recognized at Thursday’s luncheon. 

This year’s Bates County winners were as follows: 4th Place – Brendan Jones – Zion Lutheran, son of Barend & Jill Jones 3rd Place – Annabel Downs – Miami Elementary, daughter of Eric & Molly Downs 2nd Place – Jaylen Orso – Butler Elementary, daughter of Justin & Jodi Hamilton 1st Place – Kyleigh Hubbard – Hume Elementary, daughter of Kolby Hubbard & Katie Morrison Each county winner received a plaque in addition to the ribbon and cash prize for placing first in their school.

The first-place county poster will advance to the State level competition. State Poster Contest winners will be announced at the Annual Training Conference held in November, at TanTarA Resort. We would like to thank the schools, teachers and parents for allowing their students to be a part of this activity. We are especially thankful to all the students who submitted a poster.

You are the future of our Conservation Nation. Each and every one of the posters showed a genuine interest in preserving our Natural Resources through good conservation practices. Even though we had to limit attendance to a small group this year, everyone had an enjoyable time. All who attended were much appreciated for making a fun ‘lunch hour awards’ for the four county winners. Board Members in attendance were: Mark Nelson, Chairman; Mike Rapp, ViceChairman; Dillion Franklin, Treasurer and Darrel Tehnholder, Member.

Personnel in attendance were: Brad Powell and Elizabeth Davis, SWCD staff. We would like to thank everyone that attended our Poster Contest Luncheon and hope that next year we can get back to more of a ‘normal’ gathering for recognition of these fourth-grade students that do an outstanding job on their posters.

Here are the identities from left to right: Mark Nelson, Bates County SWCD Chairman; Brendan Jones, Zion Lutheran, 4th place County Winner; Annabell Downs, Miami Elementary, 3rd place County Winner; Jaylen Orso, Butler Elementary, 2nd place County Winner; Kyleigh Hubbard, Hume Elementary, 1st place County Winner.